Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-04 - 12:23 a.m.

Honesty is a ruse, I urge you abstinence and storm the treasury! On with the war!

I woke up with these words on my tongue and have no idea what they mean but they unfroze my psyche.

I was in the library and a kid was talking very quickly but with a rhythmically enchanting puffy style, I followed him on his return from the history section with sweat beads on his forehead. He said "there is a fly in the ointment." I couldn't tell if he was talking to me or to himself. So I said something very strange back to him just to be on the safe side. "To penetrate a commensurate relationship is difficult but worth the toiletry." He replied (and now he was surely speaking to me for his head was tilted) "All sides of an endless geometric figure may roil in some seas, still offering a hank to none."

General --> Details --> Analysis

That's what I remembered trying to decipher this Russian code. Maybe he was a Dennis Kunich supporter after Joe Lieberman dropped out? I had no time to answer my own questions b/c the ceiling fans were being recontextualized, sounding like frogs in breeding season recently stumbled upon. The janitor drowned out the sound with a vacuum cleaner plugged into an outlet ornamented with wrought iron.

I followed the man out of the library behind unnecessary Ray Ban lenses. The lenses were a safety device along with an electric shock trick pen.

He pulled into a grocery store leaving with one item, Jamaican spinach. I was first told of his name by a man named Fred with a dirty badge who was checking him out. "Hey carrot man, long time, no see." It was these kinds of expressions that have led me to believe that adults can never completely leave the world of peek-a-boo behind them. "Only one Jamaican spinach today? Don't you need three?" "Can't afford it Fred, not today, times is tight." The carrot man left the store and then went around back and entered the coolers. He emerged from the coolers with not three but a cartful of Jamaican spinaches, talking to himself slower than ever. Then I followed him to his apartment. I climbed up the ladder of balconies and gazed in on him conducting interviews at a double desk. The carrot man said "NO" to a young man who seemed to have esteemed him highly and went to the corner crying while ironing the creases from his pockets and what not. Then I was spotted. The carrot man asked me what I was doing on his balcony and I said that I was with Liberty Paints. He invited me inside. "You know these room shore could use a little paintin'." "I only do decks sir," quickly mining my mind to find why I had just called him sir. The carrot man seemed taken back by this sir add on too, his eye brows furrowing and hand going to his chin, obviously only shaved with less than 3 blades. "Hey we're going out to the country tonight would you like to join us? We are cooking a big meal in a keg and then we can initiate you." "Initiate me...to what." "You'll see." "All members of our group never had an idea about what they were getting into at the time and that's why we allowed them into the group, b/c daring is a dying quality these days." I had recently been dumped by a woman I loved and was slowly killing myself with upwards of 3 iced coffees a day so quickly, almost desperately said yes.

Later in the evening we were on a gravel road speeding through the tall corn in the back of a truck with the Carrot man driving. The young man the Carrot man had interviewed earlier began to cry. He started pounding on the glass partition and the Carrot man just turned up the music. The young man went to the back of the truck and dove across the air gate rolling unnaturally into a ditch. Now I was pounding on the partition. The carrot man finally stopped the truck. "One of your guys just jumped the tail gate and looks as if he might have killed himself." "Oh Rob, shit he'll be fine, he always does that to himself when we get to this point on the roads. Listen how long ago did you say he jumped?" "About 2 minutes ago." "Yep, that's Robbie all right, look to your left, you see that neon red and purple obelisk back there, that's about right where he always jumps. Some crazy farmer by the name of Kenton built that. He was this crazy hippy who would come into town dressed in purple with maccaroni and cheese sloshing in his tam, he would then enter the best restaurants in town and say "Sinners, all of you are sinners and Gargy will come for your children and each one of these noodles that swims in my hat represents your children and I like Gargy enjoy them more with pepper than salt." "The townfolk tried to have him commited to the ward but he saved up enough money by canning, selling stolen trinkets and sleeping in a stolen rusty Econoline in grocery store parking lots that he saved hisself enough money to buy a square acre of land and built that monument over there." "To himself...What the hell is it, I saw it when we were going by and thought that maybe Frank Gehry got his start in the middle of nowhere" "Nobody knows for sure, Kenton said that it was his agricultural eikos. He would eat nothing but cereal and offer his remaining scoop of Quaker Oat Bran to Demeter on the top of the spire."

This is from a dream I had last night, unfortunately my alarm clock woke me up so I couldn't finish the dream. The last thing I remember was the words Honesty is a ruse, abstinence and storm the treasury, on with the war!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!