Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2014-05-18 - 10:23 a.m.

My tweets

"Shop around for a plan, man"

The dominant metaphor about finding a health care plan was to encourage Americans to "shop around" for the plan that fits your "lifestyle." The metaphor is the calming milk of mother to easy any anxiety about a Communist takeover: "rest assured America, it's still shopping."

Teaching Phrase
"Hey ________ , share the sugar"

Teaching Phrase
"I need you to do __________. If you do I will give you some brownies that you can put in your plastic baggies."
Explanation: Rewards for on-taskness are the letter e, colored brown. The baggies are to keep the brown e's together for the Friday supply lotto. Baggies are also used for note cards.

Teacher fun names for cada estudiante
Daija becomes Deja Vu
Antonio becomes San Antonio
Hector becomes "just for the Hector of it"
Heber becomes "Heber fever" and man he don't like that one
Trystan becomes "Trystan Shandy"

When Ellison's character in Invisible Man misunderstands and hears "I yam what I yam," instead of the Yahweh version, it strikes me�years later�as a wonderful example of how mishearing things is really a hearing of our history. There is a potentially embarrassing transitional moment as we move choppily transition from one cultural convention to another.

Humor/Poetry
If he didn't cook his regression charts
he certainly sauteed the L.O.'s

Humor
The entire reason everybody makes fun of Paris Hilton is because we are jealous.

She: private jet to Vegas
You: Kia to your desk job
She: mansion
You: rental unit
She: looks great
You: face like a swollen pumpkin
She: beatbox
You: the sad sad trombone

"Oh Paris Hilton, I can't imagine living like that, she's so shallow, I bet her life is meaningless."

Yeah, sure, actually her life is a constant dance fueled by endless cocaine. You have to settle for coffee. *Narrative Interruptus: At this point it should be noted that your correspondent has never and will never do cocaine. Peet's coffee is negative experience enough to forever stay clearly away from the gallop of the White Horse. *And then you have the temerity to call her dumb! The only reason you so smart is because you had to become smart to adapt to a miserable situation, employing all sorts of acts of subterfuge, cunning and sordid behaviors, learning words and things to get you things. She don't need words because she don't need things.

Humor
Yoga: floating on a raft of pain in a darkening sea

Humor
She's the most interesting person I know. Then I take an aspirin. Sober up. Sometimes the thought persists.

Humor
EDM is the same old circus in a new town

Humor
It will all come out the wash ok, insofar as you maintain a sunny disp. and learn how to tie your shoes.

Humor
I'm at a professional sporting event watching a team called the Dogfish of San Francisco and I'm sitting next to this guy who I don't know that well, but take to be a fairly sedate professional type. You know, trims the beard, only has one beer cada dia, speaks in soft courteous tones, rises to greet a new person, white shirt, suit and tie type. Suddenly the ref. made a call that spiked his diastole and with and that he pops out of his seat like an overheated toaster strudel and shouts and I mean SHOUTS "Get off you knees ref b/c you're blowing the game."

I was a tad embarrassed to be sitting next to the carnival barker, but I would have to give him cred. b/c if you're going to be insulting to a ref.�those willing prisoners of sport and field�at least have the courtesy to wrap your cruelty in a naan of punnish play. Cheerio mate.

Humor
What Forest Gump was really about: It's better to be rich and retarded than to be poor and of normal I.Q. In the end Jenny's house came down. Forest's house will continue. The real memory is money.

Humor
One teacher on the feet is worth six in the seat


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!